Kent Attainable Housing is a nonprofit breaking the generational cycle of poverty by building or renovating affordable houses and partnering with low income, working families to prepare for and buy a home. Expanding home ownership to families in need builds foundations for healthier, happier and more productive families and a stronger community.

In numerous housing reports, data indicated a growing disparity between what families can afford for housing and what housing is available to them in the county.  Given the urgent need to provide affordable housing and the absence of any private or public agency charged with this responsibility in the county, Kent Attainable Housing, Inc. was formed.

We buy property, design or renovate homes, landscape the yards and partner with low-income families to buy the home.  We build the capacity of our applicants to successfully own a home through required workshops in financial literacy, home ownership, and budget management.  We use community volunteers and partners to help make the homes affordable and to mentor applicants through the process.


Board of Directors

Photo on 9-14-20 at 2.37 PM #3 (2)

Lani Seikaly


Ed & Shelly (2)

Ed Minch

VP & Treasurer

Screen Shot 2019-09-13 at 2.55.55 PM

Jonathan Chace


FullSizeR1 (2)

Dora Best


DABiehler-33 (1)

David Biehler


Carolyn Brooks 7 (1)

Carolyn Brooks


Screen Shot 2019-08-03 at 12.15.58 PM

Ronnie Edelman


Cheryl Hurt


Screen Shot 2019-09-13 at 3.02.48 PM

Nivek Johnson


Screen Shot 2019-09-13 at 2.55.08 PM

Pam Ortiz


Screen Shot 2020-08-20 at 8.07.37 PM

Latoya Johnson


Why board members choose to engage in the work of Kent Attainable Housing?

and Work Groups

Strategic Plan

Our Supporters

We could not build homes affordable enough nor provide the financial education to our applicants without our partners, volunteers and donors.

FullSizeR1 (2)

Our Volunteers


Our Donors

Families in need of affordable housing live in our communities in Kent County.  While most of us feel stable and secure in our homes, housing insecurity is a reality for 40% of households in our county who fell below the threshold of income to meet a survival budget according to the 2018 United Way ALICE report. 


PowerPoint Overview of Kent Attainable Housing